Tsinghua University has 15 schools, e.g. the School of Civil Engineering, the School of Economics and Management, the School of Information Science and Technology, etc., and 55 departments, most of which belong to one school. The Department of Electrical Engineering is one of the five departments which do not belong to any school.
Two committees direct the administration. The Academic Committee is responsible for establishing the strategic plan on faculty, education, and research of the department.